Go Back   Club Bazooka > General Discussion > Customer Service

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2012, 12:04 PM
cks20's Avatar
cks20 cks20 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
cks20 is on a distinguished road
Default Problem with VSE subwoofer install

I am trying to install a VSE subwoofer into a 2007 Scion TC. It seems the connector on the supplied wiring harness is slightly different than the original one that fits into the radio - can I just trim some of the 'tabs' from the bottom of the supplied connector or am I asking for trouble?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2012, 04:33 PM
cks20's Avatar
cks20 cks20 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
cks20 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problem with VSE subwoofer install

OK, I traced the harness from end to end and decided to trim the 'tabs' (actually 'ribs') from the bottom of the wiring harness connector to make it fit into the radio. Everything powered up OK, but, the sub only works when the balance is set to the passenger side - it is silent when the balance is set to the drivers side. The green LED comes on with the Key, I am getting high level AC from both channels at the sub end of the wiring harness (pins 5+12 and pins 6+13), and both voice coils of the driver are around 2 ohms. I have had the driver connected both ways (swapping one set of leads for the other) with the same results. Where do I go form here?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2012, 04:37 PM
cks20's Avatar
cks20 cks20 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
cks20 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problem with VSE subwoofer install

BTW - I have a 2007 Scion TC, the stock radio (built in 2006) and the subwoofer kit:
VSE-SCI-TC-04 - SCION TC Vehicle Specific
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2012, 09:30 AM
Geneh's Avatar
Geneh Geneh is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 507
Thanks: 342
Thanked 153 Times in 131 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 163
Geneh has a spectacular aura aboutGeneh has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Problem with VSE subwoofer install

I am showing the same stock Pioneer radio for both the 2006 and 2007. There should not have been any problems. The problem you are having sounds like a phasing issue. If you are getting ac voltage on 5/12 and 6/13 and the voltage is fluctuating with the music. Then one of the sets must be out of phase. You could send me the harness and I could swap one set of the inputs around or you could swap 5 with 12. And see if that is your problem. Contact customer service if you would like us to do it.
__________________
"Shoot For The Top...... The Bottom Is Already Full"

Q u o t e s:
To err is human, but to really foul things up requires a computer. Farmers' Almanac, 1978
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Geneh For This Useful Post:
heavyduty (04-09-2012)
  #5  
Old 04-12-2012, 04:11 PM
cks20's Avatar
cks20 cks20 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
cks20 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problem with VSE subwoofer install

Geneh,

Thanks for getting back to me. I should have been more accurate in my description of my problem - the sub works when the balance is set to the right and the center - it does not work when the balance is set to the left. I don't think phasing is the problem as the sub works when the balance is centered. I'm open for any other suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2012, 04:23 AM
cks20's Avatar
cks20 cks20 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
cks20 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problem with VSE subwoofer install

I am still hoping for some help with this issue. Anybody have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2012, 06:17 AM
Geneh's Avatar
Geneh Geneh is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 507
Thanks: 342
Thanked 153 Times in 131 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 163
Geneh has a spectacular aura aboutGeneh has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Problem with VSE subwoofer install

You should have got my PM. Please contact me a 225-272-7135 ext 226
__________________
"Shoot For The Top...... The Bottom Is Already Full"

Q u o t e s:
To err is human, but to really foul things up requires a computer. Farmers' Almanac, 1978
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Geneh For This Useful Post:
cks20 (04-30-2012)
  #8  
Old 04-30-2012, 08:05 PM
cks20's Avatar
cks20 cks20 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
cks20 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Problem with VSE subwoofer install

Geneh,

Thanks for discussing the issue I had with the Scion Sub - I discovered there was a bad connection between the internal cable and the amplifier. Things are working fine now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
bazooka.com
SAS, BAZOOKA, BASS TUBES, and LISTEN TO YOUR EARS are registered trademarks of Southern Audio Services, Inc.